Aboriginal Connection

Skills Awards for Aboriginal Youth

Through the Skills Awards for Aboriginal Youth, the Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) and the Canadian Council of Forest Ministers are proud to jointly recognize and celebrate selected Aboriginal youth for their skills development and career aspirations in the revitalized forest products industry.

Brochure (PDF)

Poster (PDF)

These awards are given to two individuals that exemplify the qualities of strong academic standing, commitment to the revitalized forest products industry, and a demonstrated commitment to the Aboriginal community.

Eligibility Requirements

The individual:
1. Demonstrates strong academic standing; and
2. Is currently enrolled in a post-secondary study program (e.g. apprenticeship, trades, college, CEGEP, university); and
3. Demonstrates a commitment to the forest sector, such as volunteering or working for the forest products industry; and
4. Demonstrates a commitment to the Aboriginal community; and
5. Is Canadian; and
6. Is First Nations, Inuit, or Métis; and
7. Is between the ages of 18-30 (proof of age required); and
8. Has not won this award in the last 3 years.

Submission Criteria and Evaluation

The nomination letter (see an example letter in appendix) should be no longer than 2 pages and must demonstrate:
1. Your full name, address and contact information (required).
2. Canadian citizenship, Aboriginal status, and age (required).
3. How you are committed to your field of study and a career in the revitalized forest industry. Applicants may wish to highlight volunteer or employment activities.
4. Your commitment to the Aboriginal community.


The submission should also include 2 reference letters:
5. One letter must be from someone in the institution that you are currently enrolled (or the employer in the case of an apprenticeship) and demonstrates your strong academic standing and current enrollment status.
6. Each letter of reference should be no longer than 1 page.


The award winner will receive:
• $2500
• Travel to receive the award. (Travel for 1 or 2 people, including airfare, meals, and 2 nights’ accommodation.)
• A commemorative award.


Judges will be selected by the Forest Products Association of Canada (FPAC) and the Canadian Council of Forest Ministers (CCFM) Secretariat to judge the nominations. All outcomes of the judging process will be considered final.

Nominations for this award, containing the required information as noted above, should be sent to:

Etienne Bélanger
Director, Forestry
Forest Products Association of Canada
99 Bank Street, Suite 410 Ottawa, ON K1P 6B9
Tel: 613-563-1441 ext 386
Fax: 613-563-4720
Email: ebelanger@fpac.ca

Nominations are due October 16th, 2015

Business Leadership Award

Call for nominations - Application details (PDF)

Each year, FPAC and the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business (CCAB) jointly offer the Aboriginal Business Leadership Award. The $5,000 award recognizes and celebrates Aboriginal entrepreneurs for their success in a forest products business that exemplifies business leadership, exceptional environmental and safety performance and the delivery of high-quality products and services. The recipient must also demonstrate a strong, long-term commitment to the Indigenous community, particularly in supporting Indigenous employment.

2015 will be the sixth year that this reward will be given. Previous recipients have been Chief David Walkem, the president of Stuwix Resources Joint Venture from the interior of British Columbia; Grace Esquega, the President of Niigaani Enterprises in Gull Bay, Ontario; Percy Guichon, the Chief of the Alexis Creek Indian Band; Tsi Del Del Enterprises of Chilanko Forks BC and Al Humphrys, the general manager of Duz Cho logging, owned by the McLeod Lake Indian Band.  The award nominees are judged against six criteria: business leadership, longevity, employment of Aboriginal peoples, safety and environmental performance, consistency of goods and services provided and commitment to the Aboriginal community.


List of winners:




The Forest Products Association of Canada is proud to be in partnership with the Canadian Council of Aboriginal Business (CCAB). CCAB works to foster sustainable business relations between First Nations, Inuit and Métis people and Canadian Business.

FPAC and CCAB are jointly awarding the Aboriginal Business Leadership Award. To nominate a business download the nomination form.

About 80% of Aboriginal people live in or near forested areas. The forest products industry is one of the largest employers of Aboriginal people in Canada. The sector also works with more than 1,400 Aboriginal firms. Working closely with Aboriginal communities will help to ensure that those communities, our industry and the Canadian economy thrive. Through existing and expanding relationships with Aboriginal peoples and communities, the industry aims to attract more Aboriginal workers, contractors and suppliers to the sector. As part of the Vision2020 goals, the industry is working towards finding tangible ways to do so.

CFS Aboriginal Student Employment

"The Canadian Forest Service (CFS) of Natural Resources Canada promotes the sustainable development of Canada's forests and the competitiveness of the Canadian forest sector. We provide science and policy expertise and advice on national forest sector issues, working closely with industry, the provinces and territories and the research community.

The CFS offers jobs to qualified Aboriginal students through its Aboriginal Student Employment Program. The program provides candidates with practical and meaningful student employment in scientific, technical, or other forestry-related fields."

For more information click here: http://jobs-emplois.gc.ca/fswep-pfete/feat-ved/index-eng.php?f=1